Alert/Panic Backup depending on drive?

How, what, where and why - when using the software.
sremick

Alert/Panic Backup depending on drive?

Post by sremick »

So I'm very new to HDS. Paid for a Pro license today. I'm really liking the features.

One issue: I'm trying to set up a Panic Backup to be triggered by an alert. Drive C: is the main drive, drive G: is the backup target drive. Both drives are being monitored by HDS.

My Operation is forced run of my existing backup job (Macrium Reflect) which backs up C: -> G:. I tested that and it seems to work.
Under the "Panic Backup" tab, I have drive C: selected and then the operation selected to start automatically.

(pausing for a moment at this point: is this actually all that I need to do, before continuing into the "Alerts" section?)

Now, I go into the Alerts section. Here I can see where I can trigger a Panic Backup based upon certain events such as "Failure Expected"... but not based on failure of which drive. For example, in my situation I only want to trigger the Panic Backup if it's drive C: that's failing (so that it backs up to G:). If drive G: is failing, I might want to do something different but certainly not start another backup to the failing drive.

I have a feeling I'm missing something about the interaction of the Operations/Panic settings and the Alert settings.
hdsentinel
Site Admin

Re: Alert/Panic Backup depending on drive?

Post by hdsentinel »

Thanks for your message and selecting Hard Disk Sentinel Pro.

Please select Configuration -> Operations page and there the Panic Backup tab.

There you can select on the top: "Disk: any hard disk" which means that the configured project(s) below will be started when ANY disk drive triggers the alert (eg. overheat, low health, new problem detected and saved in the log etc., according to the settings at Configuration -> Alerts page for the Panic Backup column).

There you can select any disk drive (instead of the "any hard disk").