Add volume name to some areas

Any new ideas, possible impromevents for future versions.
mr-b
Posts: 28
Joined: 2014.11.02. 13:13

Add volume name to some areas

Post by mr-b »

Hi

I've found that the volume name or label is missing from a couple of areas e.g. the task tray hover-help, Status Window, Configuration > Hard Disk Drives.
I find the volume name field very important as it helps me identify the functions of each disk and hence its priority.

Would it be possible to add this info please?
User avatar
hdsentinel
Site Admin
Posts: 3040
Joined: 2008.07.27. 17:00
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Add volume name to some areas

Post by hdsentinel »

Thanks, will check the possibilties!

But I'd more recommend to use the "Click to add comment..." field in the main window, where you can specify any information as comment for the hard disks.

And at Configuration -> Status window page, in the bottom left area you can enable that this "comment" should be also displayed.

This is designed exactly to allow any (and even longer text) to be specified to identify the hard disk.
Some users enter the physical location (drive position / enclosure number), others the date of purchase / warranty expirate date and so.

These may help to identify the hard disks - even more than the volume label.
mr-b
Posts: 28
Joined: 2014.11.02. 13:13

Re: Add volume name to some areas

Post by mr-b »

Tx - the comment field helps a little as a workaround but it doesn't seem to display in the configuration list of HDDs.
Also it'd be nice not to have to enter (and edit) the same info twice, so I think displaying the Vol label would help a lot. ;-)
User avatar
hdsentinel
Site Admin
Posts: 3040
Joined: 2008.07.27. 17:00
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Add volume name to some areas

Post by hdsentinel »

Thanks, but in the Configuration list of hard disks, I can confirm that the volume label will not be displayed.
As you can see, that section is designed to show the physical hard disks only, without associated logical drives.
The logical drives (and possibly their volume labels) are displayed in different locations.
mr-b
Posts: 28
Joined: 2014.11.02. 13:13

Re: Add volume name to some areas

Post by mr-b »

Slightly late reply to this one. Do I win a prize for the tardiest reply? ;-)

Set Free Disk Space Threshold just shows logical drive letters, so it'd be very useful to have the volume name displayed too.
And in the Alert emails under "Overview".
Last edited by mr-b on 2024.05.17. 22:57, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
hdsentinel
Site Admin
Posts: 3040
Joined: 2008.07.27. 17:00
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Add volume name to some areas

Post by hdsentinel »

Never too late ;)

Thanks for the tips, will check these areas as yes, this may allow easier identification of the proper logical drive.
mr-b
Posts: 28
Joined: 2014.11.02. 13:13

Re: Add volume name to some areas

Post by mr-b »

Phew! Tx for considering, as it'd make identification of logical drives/volumes etc. much easier.
Post Reply