[3.00] Creating a report freezes OS

Post here if you encounter any problems or bugs with the software.
Jermu

[3.00] Creating a report freezes OS

Post by Jermu »

Hello,

Tested the "Create Test Report" in "Send Test Report" Configuration window and HDSentinel just froze up almost immediately (printed out some lines before that). I could use Windows GUI for a while but everything failed to start and couldn't even shutdown properly. Tested again with "safe mode" ticked. Same thing.

Then after a while tried the "Save TXT Report" from "Report" menu and everything froze again. (for some reason I thought that that was a different feature than the "Send Test Report")

What gives?

I could run a special test build if you like to use verbose logging points in your code and try to catch the problem that way. (I'm a developer myself)
hdsentinel
Site Admin

Re: [3.00] Creating a report freezes OS

Post by hdsentinel »

Hi,

Interesting, the "safe mode" should be safe and not cause such issue.

Yes, the "Save TXT Report" is different compared to the "Send test report to developer".
The report created by "Save TXT Report" is a formatted one, containing disk and some hardware information but does not contain "raw" information detected about the system (for example drivers, raw response and buffers provided by the disks, etc.)

Maybe you can try to run "HDSentinel.exe /REPORT". This also should create a report file to the folder of the software, maybe it contains some details. Also I suggest to try making a report in Windows SAFE MODE if possible.

Also if possible, please send to info@hdsentinel.com any information about the system and/or screenshots about the software when it is running. This way at least I can check the detected and displayed details.
Jermu

Post by Jermu »

Hi, sorry for the late reply, had to have some time to test this out.

So, "Save TXT Report" should not create any freezes/problems? (of course everything can but..)