These functions are available only in the registered PROFESSIONAL version.
By using these options, the user can customize the backup project.
Calculate the amount of data to be copied: Hard Disk Sentinel can calculate the total amount of data to be archived before starting the archive process. This may need considerable amount of time if there are lots of files and folders to backup - so this function can be disabled. If the project is designed to be a "panic backup" project, this function should be disabled to start archiving as soon as possible. If this option is enabled, the progress and estimated remaining time are displayed during the backup operation.
Do not start if the amount of data is less than XX kbytes: do not start archiving if the source folder does not contain the specified amount of data. By using this option, it is possible to keep existing backups and avoid backup of empty folder or folder with only partial content.
Make alert in case of too few data: generate an alert if the amount of data is under the specified threshold. This can be e-mail, network message or alert window displayed on the screen, according the message settings. It is possible generate sound alert also (see below).
Verify copied data: during the backup operation, Hard Disk Sentinel automatically creates CRC checksum value for all files and store these values with the archived files. (with this information the restore module (will be available in the future) can verify the integrity of all archived files and automatically restore the files). If this option is enabled, the integrity of the archived files will be verified after archiving. If the count of archived files is large, this process may take long time (even more time than the backup process).
Copy only new and updated files: archive only new or updated files since the last backup operation.
Clear archive bit on copied files: Hard Disk Sentinel clears the archive bit on all files after backup. This will ensure that the files are archived. It is recommended to use this option with the previous one.
Delete source files after successful copy: remove all source files when the archive process is completed. Use this function only in special cases (for example, backup from a small capacity storage device and empty the device). Note: the (empty) folders will not be deleted.
Save subfolders: it is possible to enable archiving all files in all sub folders under the source folders.
Save source folder name with its contents also: if this option is enabled, the source folder name (the last folder from the source path) will be also created into the destination folder and all files and sub-folders from the source folder will be saved into this folder. If the option is disabled, the contents of the source folder will be saved directly to the destination folder.
Do not show the save status window: normally, the copy progress window is displayed during the archiving process. If the option is disabled, the window will not be displayed, only a flashing tray icon indicates that there is a backup operation in progress.
Use the current date as folder name and keep the last XX complete archives: when this option is enabled, the contents of source folders are stored more than once in the destination folders. This way it is possible to have many different complete backup archives. For example, if the backup project is configured to run daily and this option is enabled with 7 complete archives, all files will be stored for a week retroactively (all files will be saved 7 times, one backup copy for each days). The folder with the current date and time will be automatically created under the destination folder and the source files will be archived into it. If the target folder already contains the specified number of complete archives, the oldest archive will be automatically deleted. By using this option, it is possible to restore from a stable archive of any previous day in case of a problem or data loss. But it has a disadvantage: it requires much more storage space than a simple backup.
It is possible to generate report after execution of a backup project. The report can be created in all cases (upon a failure/problem or when the project completed without errors) or only when a problem encountered. It is also possible to completely disable report generation for this project. The report can be e-mail, network message or alert window displayed on the screen, according to the message settings. Optionally a sound alert can be enabled if a problem's encountered.
By enabling the Sound alert on problem option, a sound alert is generated according the sound settings on the Alerts page.
It is possible to configure the operation priority. By setting "maximum" priority, the project will be executed as soon as possible. This may reduce the performance of other applications running but this way the files may be archived sooner. It is recommended to use "maximum" for panic backup operations but idle or normal for other projects.